Review : Darkness becomes her, Kelly Keaton

Darkness becomes her by Kelly Keaton (Gods and Monsters #1)

February 22nd, 2011 (US)
Simon & Schuster

Description

Ari can’t help feeling lost and alone. With teal eyes and freakish silver hair that can’t be changed or destroyed, Ari has always stood out. And after growing up in foster care, she longs for some understanding of where she came from and who she is.

Her search for answers uncovers just one message from her long dead mother: Run. Ari can sense that someone, or something, is getting closer than they should. But it’s impossible to protect herself when she doesn’t know what she’s running from or why she is being pursued.

She knows only one thing: she must return to her birthplace of New 2, the lush rebuilt city of New Orleans. Upon arriving, she discovers that New 2 is very…different. Here, Ari is seemingly normal. But every creature she encounters, no matter how deadly or horrifying, is afraid of her.

Ari won’t stop until she knows why. But some truths are too haunting, too terrifying, to ever be revealed.

My review

I had some expectations about this novel since several bloggers have talked about it but I didn’t know anymore about the story.

When Ari begins to search for the secret of her birth, she has to go to New Orleans. Devastated by the Rim, the town was sold by the US government to the Novem, composed by the nine most rich and most powerful families of New Orleans. She soon discovers that strange events happen there while Fat Tuesday is coming.

I was delighted that it’s a dystopian novel with a paranormal side. Moreover, I love New Orleans, I wish I could visit this town one day. So I was really excited when I started to read the book. The story is set in a dark mood, a ghost and ruined New Orleans populated by strange people. Fortunately, Ari meets sympathetic but eccentric young people and a gorgeous and mysterious guy, Sebastian.

However, the story evolves too quickly, as if the author hadn’t more time to talk about other topics, so the relationship between Ari and Sebastian is not developed at all and the distrust betweens them becomes love without transition. And this precipitate aspect is again in the main plot and the revelations about Ari’s identity.

The novel is full of bad words. It’s not a problem when teens and young people are talking a crude language, as many people in the contemporary world, but I was more disturbed by the swearing of a goddess which says “Fuck” many times. I’m not prude but I was shocked by that, compared to the picture I have of gods from mythology.

If the beginning was exciting and appealing, the story is not well developed, the author could write more pages to have a more complete story, even if the rhythm of the book remains at a high level. However, the ending enables to figure out a sequel.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pisinat
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 21:24:48

    Mmmm…. Not sure about this one ^^
    In the book I’m currently reading, Aftertime by Sophie Littlefield, there are a lot of swear words. Me neither, I’m not prude, and I have to admit I swear a lot! But, I don’t know, when the language of a book is crude, it kinda annoys me… It can be very unpleasant to read.

    Reply

  2. Lisa
    Feb 19, 2011 @ 01:25:54

    I see here, and it’s not the first time, that when a lot of people loved a book and told you to read it, you’re often disappointed by this book.^^ Well, not really disappointed, but you didn’t love it as you thought. It’s weird ! But you know Frany, I think you’re already the best to choose your own books. Finally I’ll give you this advice : don’t listen to other people’s advices lool. 😉

    Reply

    • Francesca
      Feb 19, 2011 @ 21:04:39

      Thank you Lisa! Yeah I know, I’m more exciting when I’ve discovered myself some amazing novels like Delirium or Infinite Days… But I’ve read very good books too thanks to the advices of several US book bloggers. I have to experiment myself anve build my own opinion. And it’s not a problem because I love reading a lot! lol

      Reply

      • Lisa
        Feb 19, 2011 @ 23:06:58

        Of course ! I know that you’re not really disappointed because for you, time spent for reading, even a bad book, is not time for nothing.^^ (I hope that you see what I mean lol)

        Reply

Leave a Reply

