Review : Outside In, Maria V Snyder

Outside In by Maria V Snyder (Insider #2)

March 1st, 2011 (US)
Harlequin Teen

Description

Me?

A leader?

Okay, I did prove that there’s more to Inside than we knew.

That a whole world exists beyond this cube we live in. And finding that led to a major rebellion—between worker scrubs like me and the snobby uppers who rule our world. Make that ruled. Because of me, we’re free. I thought that meant I was off the hook, and could go off on my own again—while still touching base with Riley, of course. He’s the one upper I think I can trust. But then we learned that there’s outside and then there is Outside.

And something from Outside wants In.

My review

The story evolves in an unexpected and a science fiction way. The building of the novel is very clever and is very far from a classic young adult book. The romance aspect is present of course but it’s not the main plot of the novel. The more important is the rebuilding of the Cube’s world after the rebellion. We can actually make a comparison between this story and the conflict situation in the Middle East. The life after war is very difficult to restart and to rebuild. The chaos is inevitable and a adjustment period is necessary. Some people can regret the autocratic system because of the good control of the society, and have the nostalgia of it. Some people can benefit from the doubts to force their own view of the system and create a new authoritative system. The cohabitation between the Uppers and the Scrubs remains difficult, it’s hard to find a well balanced rules and way of life. I think this subject is very interesting to follow and is very complete in this book.

While the contestation inside the Cube is growing, there are more threats and some can come from outside…

I like very much Trella. She is so fierce and so brave, but she is overwhelmed by what’s happening in the Cube, so she thinks she can’t handle with her responsibilities, everybody counts on her opinion and her decisions. So she lets go and she prefers remain alone, despite her feelings for Riley. This not a good way to react and the consequences have to turn bad. Trella can be emotionless but she is rather a lonely person and she enjoys herself. I understand this kind of character can be not very sympathetic but I feel very touched by her. Her relationships with the other characters are very interesting to look. Her links with Doctor Lamont are unfortunately less developed than the others, included the romance between Trella and Riley of course, but it would be great to follow the slow evolution of the connection between Trella and Kiana. By the way, I’d like to have the full story of Trella’s parents, I’m already dreaming of a prequel!

I hope there will be a third novel in the series, I enjoy Maria V Snyder’s writing! And of course, I love Sheepy!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Missy
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 23:26:29

    Okay, I have not read Inside Out (For the moment) but I want it!
    I’m a child in a store of sweeties with this series. LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

