Review : Die for Me, Amy Plum

Die for Me by Amy Plum (Revenants #1)

May 10th, 2011 (US)
Harper Teen

Description

My life had always been blissfully, wonderfully normal. But it only took one moment to change everything.

Suddenly, my sister, Georgia and I were orphans. We put our lives into storage and moved to Paris to live with my grandparents. And I knew my shattered heart, my shattered life, would never feel normal again. Then I met Vincent.

Mysterious, sexy and unnervingly charming, Vincent Delacroix appeared out of nowhere and swept me off my feet. Just like that, I was in danger of losing my heart all over again. But I was ready to let it happen.

Of course, nothing is ever that easy. Because Vincent is no normal human. He has a terrifying destiny, one that puts his life at risk every day. He also has enemies… immortal, murderous enemies who are determined to destroy him and all of his kind.

My review

In this debut novel, Amy Plum was inspired by her own life and her passions to write this paranormal story. Amy Plum lives in France, near Tours, and has lived five years in Paris, which enabled her to write this story in the French capital. Viewed from abroad, the description of Paris is very beautiful, and foreign people who did not have the opportunity to come to France and who has a fantasized image of this country will like this. For the French people, this image will surely be more cliché. Many famous places in Paris are mentioned, like museums, historic bridges, cafés etc… and French expressions are included in the dialogues, which gives an authentic charm to the novel.

Amy Plum likes also a lot Twilight and we can feel this in her writing. Many things remind me of the story of Stephenie Meyer in the evolution of the plot, the characters’ personalities and the relationship between the two main characters. For instance, the character of Charlotte will remind you immediately someone! But we don’t have to focus on these comparisons, because Die for Me has its own path and offers a beautiful love story.

Kate Mercier is a great character. She was devastated after her parents’ death in the United States and her move to France with her sister at her grandparents’ house. She spends all her time reading books. But a meeting at the corner of a Parisian cafe is going to change everything. It will finally open for her a door to the outside world and she’s going to learn to live for herself, without any guilt. The death of her parents is an important topic in Kate’s life, especially at the beginning of the novel, but unfortunately this subject disappears too quickly in the story.

Vincent comes from a different era and has a very chivalrous and romantic behavior with Kate, almost too perfect. His love for Kate is so obvious. Their relationship is beautiful. As usual, I prefer the outsider, even if he’s not a real one. Jules is Vincent’s friend and spends his time teasing and flirting with Kate, but I don’t know if he has true feelings for her or if he’s just playing. Anyway, he’s very interested in her, and I hope he will be more important in the sequel, although I don’t think there will be a love triangle, so much the better!

Vincent and Kate don’t live a peaceful history at all. We follow the story through lots of events and extreme emotions, from elation to suffering. The book has a good rhythm and don’t allow Kate to breathe. More importantly, the story has a real ending, which don’t frustrate the reader even though we know there will be a sequel. I already have my idea of a major part of this, confirmed by Amy Plum itself! ^^

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sam
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 19:57:11

    Well I didn’t read everything so I don’t get spoiled – I know there are no major spoilers here but I am very keen on knowing JUST the minimum, something I don’t even read the book’s description – but it seems pretty interesting! I’m looking forward to read it, thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  2. Sam
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 19:59:28

    I’m looking forward to reading* it! Woops.

    Reply

  3. Lisa
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 22:08:03

    I know how you like the author of that book, I’m still a bit hesitant on the book itself but perhaps I’ll read it.^^

    Reply

  4. Missy
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 10:54:47

    Your review make me think at The sky is everywhere by Jandy Nelson, I loved this books and I hope love Die for me too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

