Review : Starcrossed, Josephine Angelini

Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini (Starcrossed #1)

May 31st, 2011 (US)
HarperTeen

Description

Helen Hamilton has always tried to hide how different she is—no easy feat on an island as small as Nantucket, and only getting harder as she finds herself haunted by hallucinations and vivid nightmares.

It’s not until she crosses paths with Lucas Delos at school that Helen’s true heritage is finally revealed. Yet even as Lucas helps her awaken to her startling powers, they can never be together—not unless they can break free from the tragic destiny the Three Fates have in store.

My review

Greek mythology is a great tendency in YA novels. This book is not an exception and is presenting a modern version of these very interesting legends. But it’s not very new and Helen is not the most sympathetic character.

Helen has always felt she was different. She is taller and stronger than the other girls. She often has nightmares and wakes up with some blood and dirt on her feet. But she has her best friend (and her only friend) Claire who is always joking and has fun with her. And her friend Matt wants to be more than her friend. When she sees Lucas for the first time, she has a feeling of pure hate and wants to kill him which surprises her and frightens her. She enters in a new and dangerous world.

The relationship between Helen and Lucas was interesting to follow in the beginning, with this mix between hate and attraction. Unfortunately, it changes quickly to a classical impossible love story. The only moment from Lucas’ point of view was useful and interesting to understand his feelings and his behaviour for Helen, there should be more.

The ending is horrible for me, it reminds me The Mortal Instruments which I didn’t like, so I don’t know if I will read the sequel.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Missy
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 11:00:19

    I read “Greek mythology” I say me: Oh Yeeeesss! But no LOL
    Impossible love and patati and patata… No, is not for me ^^

    Reply

    • Francesca
      Jun 24, 2011 @ 21:38:45

      LOOOOOL I’m always thinking how you can read YA novels and not being romantic ^^

      Reply

      • Lisa
        Jun 26, 2011 @ 18:16:02

        Missy is so weird, I know she is kind of romantic inside of her but she won’t admit it.^^ After all, she is twilighter. 😉 And twilight is really romantic lol.

        I’m not like Missy, I love that king of book, I love simple love stories but I hate things too… like a marshmallow, if you see what I mean loool.

        Reply

        • Missy
          Jun 26, 2011 @ 23:14:29

          It’s not my fault! LOL I’m without heart and I prefer dystopia books and when the end is badly. lol
          Okey I love Twilight and Twilight is a romantic story but is a exception for me. If you look in your head Lisa (I don’t konw how say “réfléchir” in English LOL) my favorites books are not romantic or maybe I’m become like a rock. ^^

          Reply

          • Francesca
            Jul 07, 2011 @ 22:07:24

            Lisa, I understand what you mean, I don’t like too much sugar neither, it stucks on your teeth LOOOOOL

            Missy, darling, you have a little romantic heart, I know it ^^

            Reply

Leave a Reply

