Review : Midnight Marked by Chloe Neill

Midnight_Marked

Midnight Marked by Chloe Neill (Chicagoland Vampires #12)

March 1st, 2016 (US)
NAL

Description

A vampire’s grudges don’t stay dead long…

Merit is one of Chicago’s most skilled vampire warriors; these days, she doesn’t scare easily. But she and Master vampire Ethan have made a new and powerful enemy, and he won’t give up until he owns the Windy City.

With his last plan thwarted, he’s more determined than ever to watch Cadogan burn. Ethan has put the House’s vampires on high alert, but their enemy will stop at nothing, including pitting vampire against vampire…

In this deadly game of cat-and-mouse, the stakes are life or death—and winning might mean sacrificing everything…

My review

We already have the twelfth book of the Chicagoland Vampires series, just one more to release, and I’m definitely not ready to leave Merit and Ethan! This book is as effective as the previous one, especially thanks to a memorable event I’ve been waiting for so long and I’m very satisfied with the way Chloe Neill has brought and described it.

There is a new plot mixing vampires, werewolves and sorcerers. All of Merit’s friends are here; tensions are growing while other disappeared in an surprising and pleasant way. I like this kind of investigation, with adventures and significant progress all the way until the conclusion. It seems that Cadogan House has to save the city every single time by herself, and I’m delighted that some people yelled and scolded about that for once.

The love story of Methan (Merit & Ethan) is still very strong. I love both characters and after so many misunderstandings, stubbornness and dramas between them, I’m content to see them linked in an inseparably way, both becoming strongest together, and confident in their couple. Their relationship is hot and emotional; I’m very fond of them.

A bigger threat hangs over them since several books in the series, and I expect we’ll have all the answers of our questions about this and Gabriel’s prophecy! I’m definitely curious about it, and I hope I’ll be satisfied by the ending. The last book of the series will release in March 2017.

Leave a comment